Board of Directors

Ilmarinen's Board of Directors

The Board of Directors’ term of office is four years. The term of office of all Board members will thus, as a general rule, expire at the end of 2021.

The Board of Directors is responsible for the company’s governance and the appropriate organisation of the company’s operations. The Board of Directors is responsible for ensuring that the control of the company’s accounting and finance has been organised appropriately. In addition, the Board of Directors prepares the issues to be discussed at Annual General Meetings, elects preparatory committees at least for the nomination, compensation and auditing issues it handles and draws up the company’s investment plan. The Supervisory Board elects 14 members and four deputy members to the Board of Directors for a term of four years. At least half of the members and deputy members of the Board of Directors will be elected from persons nominated by central labour market organisations representing employers and employees so that the candidates of both the employer and employee organisations are equally represented.




Mikko Helander, b. 1960, President and CEO of Kesko Corporation (1.1.2015-31.12.2017)

Deputy Chairmen

Jarkko Eloranta, b. 1966, President of the Central Organization of the Finnish Trade Unions SAK, 1.1.2017–

Jyri Häkämies

Jyri Häkämies, b. 1961, Director General of Confederation of Finnish Industries EK, 1.12.2012–


Sture Fjäder

Sture Fjäder, b. 1958,  President of Confederation of Unions for Professional and Managerial Staff in Finland AKAVA, 1.12.2011–


Tero Kiviniemi, b. 1971, President and CEO of Destia Group Plc, 1.1.2018–


Timo Kokkila, b. 1979, CEO, Pontos Group, 10.3.2017–

Pasi Laine,  b. 1963, President and CEO, Valmet Corporation, 5.3.2019–

Leena Laitinen, b. 1970, President and CEO, Alko Inc., 1.1.2018–

 Olli Lehtelä

Olli Lehtilä, b. 1962, Executive Vice President, OP Financial Group, Insurance Customers, 1.1.2014–


Katarina Murto, b. 1971, Director of Negotations at The Finnish Confederation of Salaried Employees STTK, 12.3.2015–

Juho Nummela, b. 1977, President and CEO, Ponsse Plc, 1.1.2018–


Seppo Parvi, b. 1964, CFO, Stora Enso Oyj, 1.1.2018–

Kristian Pullola

Kristian Pullola, b. 1973, Chief Financial Officer, Nokia Corporation, 1.1.2010–

Kyösti Suokas, b. 1958, vice chairman, Finnish Construction Trade Union, 1.1.2018-

Deputy Members

 Jouni Hakala

Jouni Hakala, b. 1961, Director, Confederation of Finnish Industries EK, 1.1.2019–



Annukka Lantto, b. 1968, Member of Board of Directors, Antell Group, 1.1.2016–



Samu Salo, b. 1976, Chairman, Union of Professional Engineers in Finland, 1.1.2018-

Taina Tenhunen, b. 1967, Head of Human Resources and Knowledge Management, Hannes Snellman Attorneys Ltd, 5.3.2019

Nomination and compensation committee

Mikko Helander (chairman)
Jarkko Eloranta
Jyri Häkämies
Tero Kiviniemi

Audit committee

Kristian Pullola (chairman)
Jouni Hakala
Katarina Murto
Seppo Parvi